nanga parbat height

The Killer Mountain – Nanga Parbat Height 8126 Meters

The Nanga Parbat known locally as Diamer meaning “king of the mountains”, is the ninth highest mountain on Earth. Nanga Parbat height is of 8,126 meters (26,660 ft) above sea level. It lies fast-northeast of the northernmost tip of the Indus River in Pakistan’s Gilgit-Baltistan region

Nanga Parbat is the westernmost point of the Himalayan mountains, and thus the traditional view of the Himalayas as bounded by the Indus and Yarlung Tsangpo / Brahmaputra rivers, is the western foothills of all the mountain ranges.

Nanga Parbat is one of eight thousanders. A large, spectacular peak rising above the surrounding area, Nanga Parbat is known as a steep climb, and has even been named Killer Mountain with a high mortality rate.

The name Nanga Parbat is derived from the Sanskrit words nagna and parvata, which, when combined, are translated “Naked Mountain”. The mountain is known locally by its Tibetan name Diamer or Deo Mir, meaning “big mountain”.

Nanga Parbat is also called as  “The Killer, Mountain” because at least 31 people died trying to climb it before its first spectacular climb in 1953, was completed alone and without oxygen, by Austrian alpinist Hermann Buhl.

LOCATION of Nanga Parbat

Nanga Parbat forms the western edge of the Himalayan Range and is the site of an elevation of eight thousand. Just south of the Indus River in the Pakistani-controlled Diamer District of Gilgit-Baltistan in Kashmir. In some places, it flows more than 7 miles (4 + 1⁄2 miles) below the surface of the massif. To the north is the western boundary of Karakoram. nanga parbat height

Nanga Parbat Height

Nanga Parbat is one of only two of the world’s highest peaks on the two highest mountains in the world, with the highest peaks in the world, ranking ninth and fourteenth in a row. Another mountain is the famous Mount Everest, which runs along the top of both sides. nanga parbat height

Nanga Parbat is also the second-highest peak in the Himalayas, after Mount Everest. The main call of Nanga Parbat is Zoji La in the Kashmir Valley, which connects it to the highest peaks in the rest of the Himalayan-Karakoram region.

The navy of the Nanga Parbat is a long ridge that runs southwest to northeast. This peak is made up of piles of snow and rocks. It has three faces: the face of Diamir, Rakhiot and Rupal. The southwestern part of this vast valley is known as the Mazeno Wall, and it has a number of peaks.  nanga parbat height

On the other hand, the main road reaches northeast of Rakhiot Peak (7,070 m or 23,200 ft). The south / south-eastern part of the mountain is controlled by the Rupal Face. The north / northwest side of the mountain, leading to the Indus, is very complex. It is divided into the face of Diamir (west) and the face of Rakhiot (north) over a long ridge. nanga parbat height

There are numerous subcontinent, including North Peak (7,816 m or 25,643 ft) some three miles (2 mi) north of the mainland. Near the base of the Rupal Face lies an icy lake called Latbo, above the seasonal shepherd’s village of the same name. nanga parbat height

The History of the ascent

Initial Efforts to Concur Nanga Parbat

Due to its accessibility, efforts to reach the Nanga Parbat conference began soon after the discovery by Europeans. In 1895, Albert F. Mummery led a trek to the summit, accompanied by Geoffrey Hastings, and reached about 6,100 m (20,000 ft) at Diamir (West) Face, but Mummery and two Gurkha friends later died and re-examined the face of Rakhiot. nanga parbat height

In the 1930s, Nanga Parbat became the focal point of German interest in the Himalayas. German climbers could not try Mount Everest, as only the British could enter Tibet. Initially the German efforts focused on Kanchenjunga, where Paul Bauer led two expeditions in 1930 and 1931, but with its long hills and steep slopes Kanchenjunga was much heavier than Everest and there was no way forward. nanga parbat height

The K2 was known to be still strong, and its remoteness meant that even reaching its destination would be a daunting task. Therefore, Nanga Parbat was one of the highest mountain in the world and was regarded by archaeologists as a potential for climbers. nanga parbat height

The first German expedition to Nanga Parbat was led by Willy Merkl in 1932. It is sometimes called the German-American voyage, as the eight sailors included Rand Herron, an American, and Fritz Wiessner, the next American citizen.

Although the group were strong prostitutes, no one had any knowledge of the Himalayan, and poor planning (especially the limited number of guards), as well as bad weather, prevented the group from moving beyond Rakhiot Peak northeast of the Nanga Parbat summit, which was reached by Peter. 

Aschenbrenner and Herbert Kunigk, but found the possibility of a route passing through Rakhiot Peak and a large ridge. nanga parbat height

The first ascent of Nanga Parbat

Nanga Parbat began the ascent, by Rakhiot Flank (East Ridge), on July 3, 1953, by Austrian rider Hermann Buhl on a German-Austrian voyage. The trip was organized by Willy Merkl’s half-brother, Karl Herrligkoffer of Munich, and Peter Aschenbrenner of Kufstein, who participated in the 1932 and 1934 efforts. By the time the trip was over, 31 people had died on the mountain.

Winter hikes of Nanga Parbat

Nanga Parbat started climbing successfully in the winter on February 26, 2016, by a team comprising Ali Sadpara, Alex Txikon and Simone Moro.

The second winter hike was made by Polish weaver Tomasz Mackiewicz and Frenchwoman Élisabeth Revol on January 25, 2018. nanga parbat height

The 8,000-foot [8,000 m] winter peaks, as rare as they are, usually occur only when extreme weather occurs, if they last a short time, and climbers find themselves physically, mentally, and strategically ready to benefit and strike.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top